Australia And New Zealand's High Commissions Host Mini Cricket World Cup In India

By on
2015 Cricket World Cup
Fireworks explode during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 opening event at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl in Melbourne, Victoria, February 12, 2015. REUTERS/Hamish Blair REUTERS/Hamish Blair

As excitement continues to build up in Australia and New Zealand following the exhilarating kick-off of the 2015 Cricket World Cup, the Australian and New Zealand High Commissions in India have joined forces to bring the World Cup fever in New Delhi. A mini Cricket World Cup has reportedly been staged for underprivileged children from participating non-govermental organisations, or NGO, on Feb. 17.

Australian High Commissioner Patrick Suckling and New Zealand’s High Commissioner Grahame Morton were in attendance at the sporting event, Times of India reported. Esther Guy Meakin, who works as the second secretary of the New Zealand High Commission, also came to watch the mini Cricket World Cup.

The children who participated in the mini Cricket World Cup came from Indian NGO Magic Bus whose aim is to help alleviate the lives of poor children by nurturing them from childhood to livelihood. The charity also uses sports to instill crucial life skills in Indian children.

“We love cricket and this was an afternoon well spent,” Morton said. “These kids come from some very deprived backgrounds and we wanted them to enjoy the sport and get into the spirit of the game.”

Meanwhile, the group stage of the 2015 Cricket World Cup is underway. New Zealand leads Pool A after winning its first two games. New Zealand won by 98 runs against Sri Lanka on Feb. 14. New Zealand scored another victory after winning by three wickets against Scotland on Feb. 17.

Australia, on the other hand, trails New Zealand at the second spot in Pool A. Australia won over England by 111 runs on Feb.14.

In Pool B, India, Ireland, and defending champion South Africa lead the standing with one win apiece. India defeated Pakistan by 76 runs on Feb. 15. The defending champion South African won by 62 runs against Zimbabwe on Feb. 15, while Ireland scored a stunning win by four wickets against West Indies on Feb. 16. The top four teams from each pool will qualify for the quarterfinals in the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

Current Pool Standings

Pool A (Win/Loss)

New Zealand (2/0)

Australia (1/0)

Bangladesh (0/0)

Afghanistan (0/0)

Sri Lanka (0/1)

England (0/1)

Scotland (0/1)

The match between Bangladesh and Afghanistan are currently ongoing at Manuka Oval in Canberra.

Pool B (Win/Loss)

India (1/0)

South Africa (1/0)

Ireland (1/0)

United Arab Emirates (0/0)

West Indies (0/1)

Zimbabwe (0/1)

Pakistan (0/1)


To report problems or leave feedback on this article, email


Join the Discussion