Tim Nicholls wins the LNP leadership spill May 6, 2016
Tim Nicholls wins the LNP leadership spill May 6, 2016 Twitter/TimNichollsMP

Tim Nichols is the new leader of the Liberal National Party following the Queensland LNP leadership spill on Friday afternoon. The former QLD treasurer defeated Lawrence Springboard 22-19 during the second round of votes.

LNP whip Ian Rickuss has announced the shock results outside the partyroom meeting. Springboard won the first round of voting, but Nicholls gained narrow margin when fellow contender Tim Mander was eliminated on the first ballot and most of his supporters switched to Nicholls’ side.

Deb Frecklington, member for Nanango, was elected unopposed as deputy, replacing John-Paul Langbroek, who stepped down. She has become the first woman to hold the position as LNP deputy leader.

Rickuss said that despite the small margin of Nicholls’ win, the votes were decisive. “It just shows the quality of the candidates we had running,” he said (via the Guardian). “We had three exceptional candidates and they will really be able to hold the government to account now.”

“Our responsibility as the new leaders of the LNP Opposition of Queensland is to take that fight up to the Labor Party to point out their failures and to ensure that Queensland is the length and breadth of this great state, have the opportunities that they deserve – better jobs, better businesses and better lives that they expect,” Nicholls told reporters after his win.

“We bring together a mix of energy and experience. I of course have experiences as treasurer of the state. I am energetic and enthusiastic. I have travelled the length and breadth of this state,” he touted himself.

As for the new deputy leader, Nicholls said Frecklington’s experiences will be a great asset to the party.