Sydney Opera House
Fireworks explode over the Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge as Australia's largest city ushers in the New Year, January 1, 2016. Reuters/Jason Reed

The Sydney Opera House will host a celebration of some of Australia's most talented artists on Australia Day on Jan. 26. It also includes two free concerts on the venue's forecourt.

According to the official website of Sydney Opera House, some of the artists booked to perform at the venue include R&B and pop singer Jessica Mauboy, all-male Australian pop music group Justice Crew - consisting of members Lukas Bellesini, Paul Merciadez, John Pearce, Lenny Pearce, Samson Smith and Solo Tohi - “Bedroom Eyes” singer Kate Ceberano, Australian pop rock band Thirsty Merc, "Buses and Trains" pop band Bachelor Girl and Cyrus.

To add a comic touch to the event Roy and HG, an Australian comedy duo, comprising of Greig Pickhaver in the role of "HG Nelson" and John Doyle as "'Rampaging' Roy Slaven,” are also included in the line-up.

Australian children's music group The Wiggles, who this year mark their 25th anniversary, will perform in the morning, while the evening show will feature other artists. Australia Day creative director John Foreman talked about the exciting and versatile line-up of the annual concert.

"From new and up and coming acts to heritage artists, to comedians, the concert will be the perfect way to celebrate all that we love about Australia through music," Foreman told the The Sydney Morning Herald.

Australia Day is the official National Day of Australia, which is celebrated annually on Jan. 26. It marks the anniversary of the 1788 arrival of the First Fleet of British Ships at Port Jackson, New South Wales, and the raising of the Flag of Great Britain at that site by Governor Arthur Phillip.

Also on Monday, Jan. 25, the Australian government will host a series of programs at the Parliament House, Canberra where they will announce the Australian of the Year Awards. Australian music legend Jimmy Barnes headlines the evening, alongside with Jimmy Barnes, Samantha Jade, Nathaniel, and Cyrus Villanueva.

The Australian of the Year Awards will be broadcast on Monday 25 January at 7.30pm on ABCTV, and live at 7.30pm AEDT on News24 and ABC iview. For more details, click here.

Meanwhile, tickets for the Sydney Opera House concert are available online at and,

Contact the writer at, or let us know what you think below.