Tyra Banks
Show host Tyra Banks kneels to the stage as she speaks at the 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards in Burbank, California April 26, 2015. Reuters/Danny Moloshok

The 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards wrapped up on Sunday night, April 26, with a tie between NBC’s longest running soap opera “Days of Our Lives” and CBS show “The Young and the Restless.” The cast of the two popular American soap operas accepted the award for Outstanding Drama Series. The two shows bested “The Bold and the Beautiful” (CBS) and “General Hospital” (ABC). CBS topped the winners' list, with 24 wins.

The 2015 Daytime Emmy Awards “recognises outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production” by National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) and Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (ATAS). The annual award show took place at the Warner Bros. Studios in Burbank California.

The award ceremony was hosted by supermodel Tyra Banks. It started with a pre-taped segment, featuring “Today” show host Matt Lauer and Ellen DeGeneres of "The Ellen DeGeneres." The two agreed to end their prank war. However, DeGeneres, who is known for her comic antics, soon broke the truce by pulling off a “Fifty Shades of Grey” prank on Lauer. She had edited the tape to put Lauer's head on top of a man’s buff body, wearing only pasties, briefs and black stockings.

DeGeneres’ show earned the Most Outstanding Talk Show-Entertainment Award and “Steve Harvey” show bagged the Outstanding Talk Show-Informative Award. The show beat “Live with Kelly and Michael,” “The Talk” and “The Wendy Williams Show.”

Veteran actress Betty White was honoured with a lifetime achievement award. "Hello, beautiful," said White to her trophy in her acceptance speech. "When I started in 1949 I had no idea that I'd still be around at this point, for one thing, or that I'd still be privileged enough to still be in this business. And it is such a privilege."

Meanwhile, “General Hospital” stars Maura West (Ava Jerome) and Anthony Geary (Luke Spencer) took home the Outstanding Lead Actress/Actor in a Drama Series, respectively. “The Young and the Restless actress Amelia Heinle (Victoria Newman) and “General Hospital” actor Chad Duell (Michael Corinthos) bagged the Outstanding Supporting Actress/Actor in a Drama Series.

Here is the full list of winners at the 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards:

Outstanding drama series (tie)

"Days of Our Lives," NBC

"The Young and the Restless," CBS

Outstanding culinary program

"Barefoot Contessa: Back to Basics," Food Network

Outstanding game show

"Jeopardy," syndicated

Outstanding morning program

"CBS Sunday Morning," CBS

Outstanding morning program in Spanish

"Un Nuevo Díaz," Telemundo

Outstanding talk show / informative

"Steve Harvey," syndicated

Outstanding talk show / entertainment

"The Ellen DeGeneres Show," syndicated

Outstanding entertainment news program

"Entertainment Tonight," CBS

Outstanding lead actress in a drama series

Maura West, "General Hospital," ABC

Outstanding lead actor in a drama series

Anthony Geary, "General Hospital," ABC

Outstanding supporting actress in a drama series

Amelia Heinle, "The Young and the Restless," CBS

Outstanding supporting actor in a drama series

Chad Duell, "General Hospital," ABC

Outstanding younger actress in a drama series

Hunter King, "The Young and the Restless," CBS

Outstanding younger actor in a drama series

Freddie Smith, "Days of Our Lives," NBC

Outstanding game show host

Craig Ferguson, "Celebrity Name Game," syndicated

Outstanding informative talk show host

Mario Batali, Carla Hall, Clinton Kelly, Daphne Oz, Michael Symon, "The Chew," ABC

Outstanding entertainment talk show host

Kelly Ripa, Michael Strahan, "Live! with Kelly and Michael," syndicated

Outstanding drama series writing team

"The Bold and the Beautiful," CBS

Outstanding drama series directing team

"The Bold and the Beautiful," CBS

For questions/comments regarding the article, you may e-mail the writer at rornos.IBTimes@gmail.com.