Cast member Naomi Watts arrives for the premiere of the film "St. Vincent" in New York, October 6, 2014. REUTERS/Shannon Stapleton
Cast member Naomi Watts arrives for the premiere of the film "St. Vincent" in New York, October 6, 2014. Reuters/Shannon Stapleton

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts or AACTA has announced the nominees for the 4th AACTA International Awards. “Birdman” tops the list, with Naomi Watts and Essie Davis the only Australians to receive nominations.

“Birdman” takes the top spot in the list with seven nominations, including Best Film, Best Direction and Best Lead and Supporting Actors for Michael Keaton and Edward Norton respectively. “Boyhood” and “The Imitation Game” each received five nominations, with “Whiplash” following with four nods.

Watts, who plays a Broadway newbie actress in the critically acclaimed “Birdman,” is also nominated for Best Supporting Actress. She is up against Emma Stone and Meryl Streep (“Into the Woods”), Keira Knightly (“The Imitation Game”) and Patricia Arquette (“Boyhood”). Fellow Aussie Essie Davis, who stars in the local horror film “The Babadook,” is up for Best Actress, and is vying for the gong against Felicity Jones (“The Theory of Everything”), Julianne Moore (“Still Alice”), Rosamund Pike (“Gone Girl”) and Reese Witherspoon (“Wild”).

Davis, 44, is also nominated for Best Lead Actress the domestic 4th AACTA Awards for the same role. The winners for this award will be announced in Sydney in January.

“The AACTA International Awards add an Australian voice to the global screen conversation, and allow us to honour the world’s best, including outstanding Australians working on international productions,” AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said in a statement. “We look forward to celebrating at our biggest, best event yet, as the 4th AACA International Awards form the centrepiece of the high-profile G’Day USA Gala in LA, creating a brand new, stand-out event.”

The winners will be announced on January 31 in Los Angeles at the G’Day USA Gala.

4th AACTA International Awards nominees:

Best Film:
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
“The Imitation Game”

Best Direction:
“Birdman” – Alejandro González Iñárritu
“Boyhood” – Richard Linklater
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” – We Anderson
“The Imitation Game” – Morten Tyldum
“Whiplash” – Damien Chazelle

Best Screenplay:
“Birdman” - Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo
“Boyhood” – Richard Linklater
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Wes Anderson
“The Imitation Game” – Graham Moore
“Whiplash” – Damien Chazelle

Best Lead Actor:
Steve Carell – “Foxcatcher”
Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Imitation Game”
Jake Gyllenahaal – “Nightcrawler”
Michael Keaton – “Birdman”
Eddie Redmayne – “The Theory of Everything”

Best Lead Actress:
Essie Davis – “The Babadook”
Felicity Jones – “The Theory of Everything”
Julianne Moore – “Still Alice”
Rosamund Pike – “Gone Girl”
Reese Witherspoon – “Wild”

Best Supporting Actor:
Ethan Hawke – “Boyhood”
Edward Norton – “Birdman”
Mark Ruffalo – “Foxcatcher”
Andy Serkis – “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”
J.K. Simmons – “Whiplash”

Best Supporting Actress:
Patricia Arquette – “Boyhood”
Keira Knightley – “The Imitation Game”
Emma Stone – “Birdman”
Meryl Streep – “Into the Woods
Naomi Watts – “Birdman”