A behind-the-scenes picture from the production set of Starz TV series "Outlander." Facebook/ Outlander

As the cast and crew are back from their Christmas break and continuing filming for “Outlander” season 3, it is time for an update on everything we know so far about the new season. The production is currently taking place in Scotland, but the team will soon shift to South Africa.

At least half the episodes for the next season have already been filmed. There will be 13 episodes on the show this year. The producers have also teased the filming of the highly anticipated Print Shop scene.

Cast members Caitriona Balfe (Claire) and Sam Heughan (Jamie Fraser) have been filming separately for the first time on the show. While the former was busy filming flash forward scenes in Boston with Tobias Menzies (Jack Randall), the latter was busy filming the Battle of Culloden and its aftermath.

As reported previously, Balfe has already filmed a few scenes with new cast member César Domboy (adult Fergus). The actress feels bad that the role of Romann Berrux (Young Fergus) will come to an end with “Outlander” season 3.

There have been a number of new additions on the show this year. The new cast members include Aussie actor David Berry (Lord John William Grey). The character is the Governor of Ardsmuir Prison, and will play a significant part in the storyline.

The other new cast members are Hannah James (Geneva), Tanya Reynolds (Isobel), Lauren Lyle (Marsali), John Bell (Young Ian Murray and Wil Johnson (Joe Abernathy).

More casting announcements are expected to be made soon. One major character yet to be cast is Mr. Willoughby, a Chinese man who will be with Jamie.

Starz is yet to announce an exact release date of “Outlander” season 3. In the meantime, the producers and the cast members have been sharing behind-the-scenes details about the production to help the fans through Droughtlander.