Gamers Play a Game by Bungie Inc. at the 2014 Electronic Entertainment Expo, Known as E3, in Los Angeles
IN PHOTO: Gamers play a game by Bungie Inc. at the 2014 Electronic Entertainment Expo, known as E3, in Los Angeles, California, June 10, 2014. REUTERS

"Destiny" has attained a new high among PS4 games, as it finishes off in first place among the best-selling titles for Sony's next-gen console in 2014. It managed to best out the likes of "Grand Theft Auto V," "Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare" and even "Minecraft PS4 Edition," reports Polygon.

And now that the New Year is in full gear, developer Bungie is once again preparing "Destiny" fans for the week ahead. Fans can now aim to go and play on a higher and more challenging level, this week will give that chance to players. Part of the latest developer update is the announcement of the Death Race 2015, which is the hard mode for Crota's End.

According to the latest developer update, Crota's End will have the Hard Mode starting Jan. 21 at 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time. Bungie did state that the specific time is still up for possible changes. Players can access the raid via activity in the Director and choosing the Hard Difficulty mode. Players are giventhe chance to clear level 33 with the new patch.

Crota's End Hard Mode will give some interesting new weapons that are only obtainable via the new difficulty. The link above features the screenshots and specs of the new weapons, but there are some Primary Weapons worth taking note of in Hellmouth. The weaons can reach a Maximum Attack of 331, and among these weapons are the following:

- Abyss Defiant, auto rifle

- Fant of Ir Yut, scout rifle

- Oversoul Edict, pulse rifle

- Word of Crota, hand cannon

Finally, one other reason to start playing the Hard Mode is that it will be the only place where one can find the "Crux of Crota," which is the final piece "Destiny" players need to obtain to upgrade the Eidolon Ally. This weapon is also more known as the Husk of the Pit, and upgrading it will let you wield it to its maximum potential. Your gear will also have its own Shaders for Hard Mode, which is called the Glowhoo.

For this round of the Iron Banner, the previously announced changes for Iron Banner will now already apply. The new mechanics will not only reward the winners for the Iron Banner, but even those who are defeated will get something in return for participating. According to GameZone, even the defeated ones will get a Medallion of Iron, which can be redeemed for a portion of lost reputation.

Bungie has confirmed this, stating that the smaller amount of Iron Banner reputation points will be added to your winning game award. But note that "Destiny" players who are defeated can only have five Medallions at a time.

Finally, for those awaiting updates, "Destiny" players will receive a patch on Jan. 20, which is the update The developer has yet to release a log for the full patch notes. Speaking of fixes, Bungie has also pinpointed an issue that has been experienced by Xbox One players. The NEWT errors have already been resolved, though for the few who may still be experiencing difficulties, one way to get back in the game is to power down the Xbox One as well as the modems and routers, restarting the devices one at a time and relaunching "Destiny."

Crota's End Hard Mode on "Destiny" (Credit: YouTube/DPJ - Daily Destiny Videos)

Read more gaming news:

H1Z1 Early Access and Pay2Win Debate: Fans React on Weapons in Paid Supply Drops, SOE Issues Refunds

Minecraft PS4, PS3, PS Vita, Xbox One and Xbox 360 Get Updates and Simpsons Pack for Xbox Detailed

PS4 Update on Exclusives: 60fps for Uncharted 4, New The Order: 1886 Trailer and Quality of Deep Down

Have feedback or comments? Leave a message at