'Winds of Winter' author says he can finish book before TV series, if it airs 10 seasons

By @sachintrivedig on
George R.R. Martin, author of the "Song of Ice and Fire" fantasy series
George R.R. Martin, author of the "Song of Ice and Fire" fantasy series that is the basis of the television series "Game of Thrones", pauses during his masterclass at the Neuchatel International Fantastic Film Festival (NIFFF) in Neuchatel July 10, 2014. REUTERS/Denis Balibouse Reuters/Denis Balibouse

Fans of “A Song of Ice and Fire” book series are eagerly waiting for the release of the next book “Winds of Winter.” With George R.R. Martin redoubling his efforts in order to complete the book, some of the fans now appear to be interested in the final book in the series, which is expected to be titled “A Dream of Spring.”

Martin decided to interact with the fans on his official blog, in which he expressed his excitement about the trailer of “Game of Thrones” Season 6. One of the fans asked him if he would be able to finish the book series before the final season of the TV series. “If the show runs ten seasons, maybe,” Martin replied.

The books in “A Song of Ice and Fire” are very voluminous and take a very long time for Martin to write. The latest book in the series “A Dance with Dragons” has over a thousand pages in the hardcopy version. The book was released in July 2011.

After five years of waiting, many of the fans had hoped for “Winds of Winter” to be released in 2016. One person who had hoped for the book to be released before “Game of Thrones” Season 6 premiere was Martin himself and he has repeatedly said that he wished the book was done already.

Some of the fans started off as fans of the book series, but now that the next season of the TV series threatens to act as a spoiler to the books, at least one of the fans has decided to skip the show and wait for the book. “I for one will wait for the books at this point. I like the show, but I started as a reader and I cannot watch this show without reading it first. I wish it wasn’t so but I am left with no other choice,” Nick Nilsen wrote in the comments section in Martin’s blog.

Martin has decided that he will cut back on attending events and reduce his other responsibilities to focus on finishing “Winds of Winter.” The author has not written the script of any of the episodes in “Game of Thrones” Season 6, to try and focus on writing.

Join the Discussion