Peter Capaldi
Scottish actor Peter Capaldi arrives for the world premiere of his film "World War Z" in London June 2, 2013. Reuters/Neil Hall

“Doctor Who” has made it to the shortlist, but star Peter Capaldi failed to be nominated for the 2015 National Television Awards. For the first time since the long-running sci-fi show was revived in 2005, the main actor has not been up for top drama performance at the National Television Awards in the UK.

Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant and Matt Smith, who all played the titular Time Lord in the series, all won an award or two at the British TV awards ceremony since 2005. With Capaldi’s assignment as the new Doctor in 2014, it was also expected that the Scottish actor would at least be nominated.

Unfortunately, the 56-year-old star missed out for 2015. Benedict Cumberbatch, Sarah Lancashire, Dame Maggie Smith and Sheridan Smith are all vying for the Drama Performance award.

“Doctor Who” is still in the running for Drama category, though. The BBC series is up against “Cilla,” “Downton Abbey” and “Sherlock.”

The 2015 National Television Awards will announce the winners on ITV on January 21.

The show has so far 16 accolades from the NTA, which sees the winners being voted on by the public. In 2005, Eccleston and Billie Piper, who played the fan favourite Rose Tyler, won Most Popular Actor and Actress respectively, with the show taking home the Most Popular Drama. The show won the same three trophies the next year, with the Most Popular Actor won by Eccleston’s successor David Tennant this time around.

The next two main companions of the Doctor, Freema Agyeman and Catherine Tate, were also nominated in 2007 and 2008, but Agyeman lost the Most Popular Actress award to Lacey Turner of “EastEnders,” while Tate lost the Outstanding Drama Performance to co-star Tennant. Matt Smith, Capaldi’s predecessor, and Karen Gillan also won awards for the show.

Capaldi’s first full season as the time-travelling alien has just concluded with a Christmas Day special for the year. He will be reprising his role in 2015.

Here are the nominees for the National Television Awards:

Talent Show:
“Strictly Come Dancing”
“The X Factor”
“Britain’s Got Talent”
“The Voice UK”

Skills Challenge Show:
“Come Dine With Me”
“The Apprentice”
“The Great British Bake Off”

Serial Drama:
“Coronation Street”

“Mrs Brown’s Boys”
“The Big Bang Theory”

“Doctor Who”
“Downton Abbey”

Drama Performance:
Sarah Lancashire as Sgt Catherine Cawood in “Happy Valley”
Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes in “Sherlock”
Dame Maggie Smith as Violet, Dowager Countess of Grantham in “Downton Abbey”
Sheridan Smith as Cilla Black in “Cilla”

“Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs”
“Long Lost Family”
“Top Gear”

Chat Show Host:
Graham Norton
Paul O’Grady
Alan Carr
Michael McIntyre
Jonathan Ross

“The Chase”
“This Morning”
“The Jeremy Kyle Show”

Michael Parr as Ross Barton in “Emmerdale”
Lee Mead as Ben “Lofty” Chiltern in “Casualty”
Cameron Moore as Cameron Campbell in “Hollyoaks”
Maddy Hill as Nancy Carter in “EastEnders”

Serial Drama Performance:
Kellie Bright as Linda Carter in “EastEnders”
Danny Dyer as Mick Carter in “EastEnders”
Verity Rushworth as Donna Windsor in “Emmerdale”
Nikki Sanderson as Maxine Minniver in “Hollyoaks”

“The Walking Dead”
“Geordie Shore”
“Celebrity Juice”
“Game of Thrones”

Entertainment Presenter:
Dermot O’Leary
Keith Lemon
Ant & Dec
Bradley Walsh

Entertainment Programme:
“Celebrity Big Brother”
“Through the Keyhole”
“I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!”
“Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway”