'OITNB' Star Ruby Rose With McLaren Formula One Drivers Heikki Kovalainen, Lewis Hamilton
McLaren Formula One drivers Heikki Kovalainen (L) of Finland and Lewis Hamilton (R) of Britain joke with Australian entertainment personality Ruby Rose after a pit stop practice session at the Australian F1 Grand Prix in Melbourne March 28, 2009. Reuters/Daniel Munoz

Federation Internationale de l'Automobile, or FIA, has reportedly permitted Japanese car manufacturer Honda to participate in the 2015 Formula One, or F1, season. Honda will now be allowed to develop engines in 2015.

According to Auto Sport, the decision came after Honda has expressed its frustration over a previous ruling, which only permitted Mercedes, Renault, and Ferrari to upgrade its engines. FIA looked back at the ruling and concurred to give Honda the chance to improve its engines only within the limits that are plainly laid out by F1's governing body.

"As each of the four 2015 manufacturers will have a homologated power unit at the start of the season, we believe it would be fair that each of them enjoys equal opportunities for upgrades during the season," F1 Race Director Charlie Whiting said. "We will therefore allow the new manufacturer to use the same number of tokens that the other three manufacturers have available to them, taken as an average of the three."

With the new ruling, Honda can change its engine based on the average of the number of tokens that are not used by the other three manufacturers. In the example that Whiting has given, if there is a collective total of 20 unused tokens from the Mercedes, Renault, and Ferrari by the time of the first race in Australia on March 16, the new manufacturer will be given six tokens during the season.

Meanwhile, McLaren-Honda drivers Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button will get to try the engines at the pre-season testing. The first pre-season test will take place in Jerez, Spain from Feb. 1 to 4.

Complete Driver Line-ups, Test and Race Schedules for the 2015 F1 Season (Source: Sky Sports)

February 1-4: Jerez, Spain.
February 19-22: Barcelona, Spain.
February 26-March 1: Barcelona, Spain.


Drivers: Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg
Engine: Mercedes

Drivers: Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat
Reserve driver: Sebastien Buemi
Engine: Renault

Drivers: Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa
Engine: Mercedes

Drivers: Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen
Reserve driver: Esteban Gutierrez
Test driver: Jean-Eric Vergne
Engine: Ferrari

Drivers: Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button
Reserve driver: Kevin Magnussen
Engine: Honda

Drivers: Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez
Engine: Mercedes

Drivers: Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz
Engine: Renault

Drivers: Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado
Engine: Mercedes

Drivers: Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr
Reserve driver: Raffaele Marciello
Engine: Ferrari

Drivers: TBC
Engine: Ferrari

Drivers: TBC
Engine: Renault