After a demoralising one-wicket defeat from New Zealand, Australia has nailed a big win breaking World Cup records on March 4. Australia smashed newcomer Afghanistan 417-6 and achieved the highest total and winning margin of 275-run in the history of the tournament. Aussie captain Michael Clarke couldn’t be happier with the squad’s victory and hopes to keep the momentum with only 10 days remaining in the month-long pool stage of the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

“A very good win,” Clarke was quoted saying in an article by “The boys were outstanding with the bat.”

Clarke also commended teammate left-handed opening batsman David Warner’s “exceptional” performance. Warner scored an incredible career-best 178 runs out of 133 balls during the match. Clarke added that all the members of the squad had contributed a lot and scored runs for Australia’s monumental victory. Glenn Maxwell also made 88 runs, while Steve Smith recorded 95 runs.

Afghanistan, on the other hand, only managed to score 142 in the 38 overs for Australia to sneak away with 275-run victory. Nawroz Mangal was the top scorer for the Afghans with 33 runs.

Australia’s total count is the third 400-plus score of this year’s World Cup. South Africa posted 400-plus total in their matches against Ireland 411-4 on March 3 and against the West Indies 408-5 on Feb. 27. Australia has broken India’s 413-5 record against Bermuda Trinidad at in 2007. Australia now holds the record for the highest-ever margin in One Day Internationals.

Australia will be facing Sri Lanka in the next outing on March 8 at the Sydney Cricket Ground. The Sri Lankan cricket team will be a tough challenge for Australia. After losing to New Zealand in the opening match, Sri Lanka has made a great comeback winning all their succeeding matches in the tournament against Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and England. Australia’s final match in the pool stage will be against Scotland on March 14.


Pool A

New Zealand (8, 4-0)

Sri Lanka (6, 3-1)

Australia (5, 2-1-1)

Bangladesh (5, 2-1-1)

England (2, 1-3)

Afghanistan (2, 1-3)

Scotland (0, 0-4)

Pool B

India (6, 3-0)

South Africa (6, 3-1)

West Indies (4, 2-2)

Pakistan (4, 2-2)

Ireland (4, 2-1)

Zimbabwe (2, 1-3)

United Arab Emirates (0, 0-4)

To report problems about this article, or leave feedback email