Michael Madsen, Kurt Russell, Quentin Tarantino, Demian Bichir, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Walton Goggins, Tim Roth, Bruce Dern
Director of the movie Quentin Tarantino (3rd L) poses with cast member (from L-R) Michael Madsen, Kurt Russell, Demian Bichir, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Walton Goggins, Tim Roth and Bruce Dern at a press line for "The Hateful Eight" during the 2015 Comic-Con International Convention in San Diego, California July 11, 2015. Reuters/Mario Anzuoni

Michael Madsen is one of the cast members of Quentin Tarantino’s “The Hateful Eight,” which is set to be released in Australia on Jan. 14. Recently, the actor talked about Tarantino’s 1992 film “Reservoir Dogs,” in which he played Vic Vega also known as Mr. Blonde.

In an interview with Independent, Madsen revealed that he had never met Tarantino before the director offered the “Reservoir Dogs” role named Mr. Blonde. The actor said, “I walked in the room at the 20th Century Fox lot and he was standing there with his arms folded, Harvey sitting on the couch in bare feet.”

Written and directed by Tarantino, “Reservoir Dogs” won several awards from 1992 to 1994 including the International Critics Award from Toronto International Film Festival. Along with Madsen as Mr. Blonde, it starred Harvey Keitel as Larry Dimmick also known as Mr. White, Tim Roth as Freddy Newandyke also known as Mr. Orange, Steve Buscemi as Mr. Pink and Tarantino as Mr. Brown, among others.

According to Madsen, he made his case for playing Mr. Pink, so Tarantino asked him to audition for the role. After Madsen did a couple of Mr. Pink scenes, however, Tarantino decided that Madsen fits for only one role in “Reservoir Dogs,” which is Mr. Blonde.

Madsen admitted that he wanted to play Mr. Pink because he had more scenes with Keitel. He added that his agents were not convinced that he ought to do “Reservoir Dogs” at all.

In “The Hateful Eight,” Madsen plays a quiet cowboy named Joe Gage. The character is one of the lodgers in “Chapter Three: Minnie’s Haberdashery.”

Tarantino directed and wrote “The Hateful Eight.” Along with Madsen, it stars Roth, Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Walton Goggins, Demian Bichir and Bruce Dern, among others.

During the last week of 2015, “The Hateful Eight” debuted in 100 theatres and had a wide expansion in a slightly shorter DLP version. On Dec. 30, 2015, the film expanded to 1,958 theatres and as of New Year’s Eve, it earned almost $20 million, according to Forbes.